top of page

2017 Composition Competition Winner


The winner of the 2017 Canadian Band Association Composition Competition is Chasing Sunlight by Ontario composer and educator Cait Nishimura. Ms. Nishimura will receive $1,000 for her efforts.  For more information about Cait and her music, please go to   


CAIT NISHIMURA is a composer and music educator based in Toronto, Canada. Her music draws inspiration from the beauty of the natural world and explores the ever-expansive realm of human emotion. Cait strives to present contemporary Canadian music that is accessible and approachable by musicians of all levels. 


While her favourite sound pallet to use is the wind ensemble, Cait writes music for a variety of large and small ensembles. Her music uses minimalist patterns, simple yet lush harmonies, and themes that linger in listeners' minds. Recent premieres include performances by wind bands at Kwantlen University, Unionville High School, and Branksome Hall, and chamber and solo works performed by students and professionals in Toronto. Cait enjoys sharing her passion for music with students of all ages, and is often invited to lead composition and songwriting workshops in music classrooms across the Toronto region.

Cait grew up in Aurora, Ontario, and spent summers in the small cottage town of Kinmount, Ontario, where her appreciation and adoration of skies, forests, and animals began. She moved to Toronto to pursue a Bachelor of Music and a Bachelor of Education at the University of Toronto, and continues to live in the big city with her partner and their two cats. When not composing or teaching, Cait enjoys camping, painting, and jigsaw puzzles.

Now in its 6th year, the CBA’s 2017 Composition Competition received twenty (20) entries from across the nation. Entries are reviewed annually by the CBA Composition Competition Members.



To learn more about the competition, or to become an active member, please contact competition chair Jason Caslor at

CBA 2017 Composition Competition Members:



  • 306 Maple Leaf Wing Concert Band (Brent Besner)

  • Acadia Junior High (Darryl Ferguson)

  • Agincourt Collegiate Institute (David Lum)

  • Arizona State University (Jason Caslor)

  • Belmont Secondary School (Mandart Chan)

  • Brandon University (Wendy McCallum)

  • Festival City Winds Music Society (Wendy Grasdahl)

  • Georges P. Vanier School (Adam Mailman)

  • Halifax All-City Music (Nathan Beeler)

  • Long & McQuade Music (Tricia Howe)

  • McGill University (Alain Cazes)

  • Memorial University (Paul De Cinque)

  • Music Mentors International (Kevin Willms)

  • Prairie Spirit School Division (Will Martin)

  • Quebec Youth Wind Ensemble (Guy Cox)

  • Rosemount High School (Debbie Best)

  • Sackville Community Concert Bands (Jim Forde)

  • Saskatchewan Music Educators Association (Lee Adams)

  • Second Chance Community Band of Nova Scotia (Chris Ward)

  • St. John's Ravenscourt School (Robert Payne)

  • Unionville High School (Jeff Wrigglesworth)

  • University of British Columbia (Robert Taylor)

  • University of Manitoba (Jacquie Dawson)

  • University of Saskatchewan (Darrin Oehlerking)

  • University of Toronto (Gillian MacKay)

  • Upper Canada College (Tony Gomes

  • Vincent Massey Collegiate (Matthew Abraham)

  • Westgate Mennonite Collegiate (Ross Brownlee)


bottom of page