top of page

Howard Cable Memorial Prize in Composition

Portrait of Terry Fox

2018 Winner - Quan Le


The winner of the 2018 CBA Howard Cable Memorial Prize in Composition is Portrait of Terry Fox by Quan Le of Alberta. 


Quan was a passionate musician and educator. His background in Kodály pedagogy and its emphasis on music literacy and repertoire of the highest quality was always at the heart of his teaching.  Quan was the music director at the Calgary Girls' School from 2004-2017 where his choirs and bands received numerous awards and recognition at the local, provincial and national levels. Beyond these accomplishments, what stood out most about Quan was his ability to form meaningful, life-long relationships with his students. In recent years, Quan dedicated much of his time and energy to composing and arranging music for choirs and band, and his works have been performed by several musical ensembles in Alberta.  In addition to his work as an educator and composer, Quan was a talented trombonist and played with the Calgary Civic Symphony.  Over the past 13 years, he also sat on the board for the Civic Symphony, the program advisory committee for Choir Alberta, and the planning committee with the Alberta International Band Festival. His talent and his love of music was an inspiration to all who knew him and although he lost his battle with cancer, his legacy will continue to inspire his students for years to come.  

Now in its 7th year, the CBA’s 2018 Howard Cable Memorial Prize in Composition received nineteen (19) entries from across the nation. Entries are reviewed annually by the CBA Members.



To learn more about the competition, or to become an active member, please contact competition chair Jason Caslor at

1979 - 2017

CBA 2018 Members:



  • 306 Maple Leaf Wing Concert Band (Elizabeth Huyer)

  • Acadia Junior High (Darryl Ferguson)

  • Agincourt Collegiate Institute (David Lum)

  • Arizona State University (Jason Caslor)

  • Belmont Secondary School (Mandart Chan)

  • Brandon University (Wendy McCallum)

  • Brunskill School (Michael Kurpjuwait)

  • Cardinal Carter Academy for the Arts (Mary Evered)

  • CBA - Ontario Chapter (Joseph Resendes)

  • Festival City Winds Music Society (Wendy Grasdahl)

  • Georges P. Vanier School (Adam Mailman)

  • Halifax All-City Music (Nathan Beeler)

  • International Music Camp (Tim Baumann)

  • Lloydminster Comprehensive High School (Jerraie Oberg)

  • Long & McQuade Music (Tricia Howe)

  • McGill University (Alain Cazes)

  • Music Direct (Don Closson)

  • Music Mentors International (Kevin Willms)

  • Oak Park High School (Derek Fraser)

  • Prairie Spirit School Division (Will Martin)

  • Quebec Youth Wind Ensemble (Andrea Schellenberg)

  • Rosemount High School (Debbie Best)

  • Sackville Community Concert Bands (Jim Forde)

  • Saskatchewan Music Educators Association (Lee Adams)

  • Second Chance Community Band of Nova Scotia (Chris Ward)

  • St. John's Ravenscourt School (Jeff Johnson)

  • Unionville High School (Jeff Wrigglesworth)

  • University of Alberta (Angela Schroeder)

  • University of British Columbia (Robert Taylor)

  • University of Lethbridge (Chee Meng Low)

  • University of Manitoba (Jacquie Dawson)

  • University of Saskatchewan (Darrin Oehlerking)

  • University of Toronto (Gillian MacKay)

  • Upper Canada College (Tony Gomes)

  • Vincent Massey Collegiate (Matthew Abraham)

  • Westgate Mennonite Collegiate (Ross Brownlee)


bottom of page